

# **COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA**

Department of Health Office of Emergency Medical Services 1041 Technology Park Drive Glen Allen, VA 23059-4500

1-800-523-6019 (VA only) 804-888-9100 (Main Office) 804-888-9120 (Training Office) FAX: 804-371-3108

Gary R. Brown Director

P. Scott Winston Assistant Director

## Proposed Agenda

House Bill 1728 Workgroup Meeting Richmond Marriott Short Pump 4240 Dominion Boulevard Glen Allen, VA 23059

June 8, 2017 10:00 a.m.

- I. Call meeting to order
- II. Introductions/Opening Statements
- III. Review of April 24 meeting minutes
- IV. Review of House Bill 1728 Language
- V. Subgroup Work Session
- VI. Subgroup Reports and next steps
- VII. Public Comment
- VIII. Adjournment

# **Upcoming Meetings (Time and Location TBD):**

- \*June 29
- \*July 20
- \*August 24
- \*September 14



### **HB1728 Workgroup Resource Documents**

- Virginia EMS Regulations for Air Medical Services
- Medevac in Virginia Overview Presentation
- Virginia House Joint Resolution 636 1997
- 1999 Medevac JLARC Report
- VDH Response to 1999 JLARC Report
- House Bill 2751 2003 General Assembly Session
- JLARC Medevac Status Report 2004
- Maryland Air Ambulance Study 2006
- Montana House Joint Resolution 29
- Montana Senate Bill 44
- Airline Deregulation Act overview
- AAMS Air Medical Cost Study Report
- Consumer Reports Article
- Department of Health and Human Services Document on HEMS Billing
- Association of Air Medical Services (AAMS) Model State Guidelines
- American College of Emergency Physicians Guidelines for Air Medical Dispatch
- National Association of State EMS Officials (NASEMSO) Air Medical Update
- NASEMSO State Model Rules for Air Medical Services
- Virginia State Trauma Triage Plan

#### **HB1728 Workgroup Representatives:**

• Law Enforcement: Virginia State Police – Lt. Jay Cullen (Unit Commander – VSP Aviation)

### • EMS Providers:

- Deputy Chief Eddie Ferguson Goochland County Dept. of Fire-Rescue & Emergency Services, Past President Virginia Association of Governmental Administrators
- Derrick S. Ruble Director of 911 & Emergency Communications, Tazewell County, VA

#### Health Insurance Providers:

- Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance Jim Young, Insurance Policy Advisor Policy, Compliance and Administration Division
- o Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services Bill Zeiser, Transportation Unit Supervisor
- o Virginia Association of Health Plans Kyle Shreve, Director of Policy

#### Medevac Committee:

- Anita Perry Medevac Committee Chair
- o Julia Marsden Vice Chair (Facilitator)
- Emergency Physicians: George Lindbeck, MD, State Medical Director

#### Interested Stakeholders:

- o Rob Hamilton, President, Med-Trans Air Medical Transport (representing medevac operators)
- o Erik Bodin, Director, VDH Office of Licensure and Certification
- o Paul Davenport, Vice President Emergency Services, Carilion Clinic (representing VHHA)
- o Paul Sharpe, Director of Trauma Services, Henrico Doctors' Hospital (representing VHHA)
- o Ed Rhodes Rhodes Consulting

